MIOS user's manual version
Z-Wave ADVANCED Options
Here you have various advanced Z-Wave options. Use these options only if you understand what they mean. Most users will not need these options.
Reset Z-Wave network purges all data in MIOS's black Z-Wave dongle, which also clears out the list of Z-Wave devices paired to MIOS. You will then need to reset any devices you previously paired, and pair them again. If you also want to get rid of your scenes, network settings, users, network devices, etc., you can do a full factory reset.
WARNING: This process is IRREVERSIBLE, you cannot restore your devices from a backup, you have to pair each of them again. Before proceeding you have to manually unpair all the devices, otherwise you will create duplicate nodes which will compromise your Z-Wave network.
Controller shift tells MIOS to transfer the role of primary controller to another Z-Wave controller. After you click 'Controller Shift,' proceed to add the other Z-Wave controller the same way you normally would, as explained here. The difference between adding the controller by clicking 'Controller Shift' versus adding the controller the normal way by clicking 'Add ZWave controller', is that if you choose 'Controller Shift', at the end when the other Z-Wave controller gets added, that other ZWave controller will become the 'Master controller', and MIOS will be a secondary controller. This means the other Z-Wave controller will then be responsible for healing the networking and being the SIS/SUC (a technical Z-Wave term). Normally, by default, MIOS is the master controller and is SIS/SUC.
Reset Z-Wave chip will send a software reset to the zwave chip. This will restart the code written on it. It will not cause any loose of data.
The Z-Wave chip maintains the master list of all the other Z-Wave devices that you have included into your Z-Wave network. MIOS also maintains its own database with a list of devices, and MIOS's database has a lot more detail, such as the name of the device, the room that it's in and so on. MIOS continually syncs its database with the master list of devices in the Z-Wave chip. This is why you can carry it around to pair and unpair devices, and MIOS will show any new or removed devices. If change your Z-Wave unit, then all your devices will disappear since the new one doesn't have any devices paired to it and so MIOS deletes the ones in its database.
MIOS also has the ability to restore, or clone, this backup into another unit.
For example, if you receive a replacement unit, you can restore a backup of your old dongle's data to the new dongle so you don't have to rebuild your network.
To do this follow these steps:
NOTE In case you forgot to backup your existing settings and you have the findvera.com service activated from FindVera.com tab, your MIOS will backup your data once per day. So, go to https://findvera.com and click Settings and you will see there the backups. Select the last one and restore it to your MIOS unit. Read here about the restore process: Backup / Restore